Service des Posts et des Télécommunications | Timbres de Wallis & Futuna | France & Colonies Philatelic Society (UK)

Wallis & Futuna

2020 Stamp Programme

  1.   25 January 2020:  Lunar New Year — Year of the Rat
  2.   17 February 2020:  Colloquium on Native Langauges of Francophone Pacific
  3.   25 May 2020:  Festival of Nature
  4.   18 June 2020:  DeGaulle’s Appeal of 18 June, 80th Anniversary

Wallis and Futuna, officially the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands (Territoire des îles Wallis-et-Futuna in French, Uvea mo Futuna in Fakauvea and Fakafutuna:), is a French island collectivity in the South Pacific between Tuvalu to the northwest, Fiji to the southwest, Tonga to the southeast, Samoa to the east, and Tokelau to the northeast.

Its land area is 142.42  km² (54.99 sq mi) with a population of 11,558 at the 2018 census (down from 14,944 at the 2003 census). Mata-Utu is the capital and biggest city. The territory is made up of three main volcanic tropical islands along with a number of tiny islets, and is split into two island groups that lie about 260 km (160 mi) apart, namely the Wallis Islands (Uvea) in the northeast, and the Hoorn Islands (also known as the Futuna Islands) in the southwest, including Futuna Island proper and the mostly uninhabited Alofi Island.