Correo Paraguayo Filatelia


2020 Stamp Programme

  1.   27 February 2020:  Promotion of Breastfeeding
  2.   xx June 2020:  Secretariat of National Emergencies 15th Anniversary
  3.   xx October 2020:  Paraguayan Postage Stamps 150th Anniversary
  4.   xx October 2020:  PUAEP 2020 — Architecture
  5.   xx October 2020:  Electorial Justice Tribunal 25th Anniversary
  6.   23 October 2020:  United Nations 75th Anniversary — Sustainable Development
  7.   30 October 2020:  Paraguay Olympic Committee 50th Anniversary
  8.   02 December 2020:  Christmas 2020
  9.   02 December 2020:  Association for Latin American Integration 40th Anniversary

The Republic of Paraguay (República del Paraguay), is a country in South America. It is bordered by Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the east and northeast, and Bolivia to the northwest. Although one of only two landlocked countries in South America (the other being Bolivia), the country has coasts, beaches and ports on the Paraguay and Paraná rivers that give exit to the Atlantic Ocean through the Paraná-Paraguay Waterway.

Spanish conquistadores arrived in 1524, and in 1537 established the city of Asunción, the first capital of the Governorate of the Río de la Plata. During the 17th century, Paraguay was the center of Jesuit missions, where the native Guaraní people were converted to Christianity and introduced European culture. After the expulsion of the Jesuits from Spanish territories in 1767, Paraguay increasingly became a peripheral colony, with few urban centers and settlers. Following independence from Spain in the early 19th century, Paraguay was ruled by a series of authoritarian governments characterized by nationalist, isolationist and protectionist policies. This period ended with the disastrous Paraguayan War (1864–70), during which the country lost half its prewar population and around 25–33% of its territory to the Triple Alliance of Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay. In the 20th century, Paraguay faced another major international conflict—the Chaco War (1932–35) against Bolivia—in which it prevailed. Afterwards, the country came under a succession of military dictatorships, culminating with the 35-year regime of Alfredo Stroessner, which lasted until his overthrow in 1989 by an internal military coup. This marked the beginning of Paraguay’s democratic era, which continues to this day.

Paraguay is a developing country. It is a founding member of Mercosur, the United Nations, the Organization of American States, the Non-Aligned Movement and the Lima Group. Additionally, the city of Luque, in metropolian Asuncion, is the seat of the CONMEBOL.

The majority of Paraguay’s seven million people are mestizo, and Guarani culture remains widely influential; more than 90% of the population speak various dialects of the Guarani language alongside Spanish. Despite a history of poverty and political repression, Paraguay often ranks as the “world’s happiest place” based on global polling data.