IGPC Web Shop | Grenada Postal Corporation


2020 Stamp Programme

Grenada currently utilizes the Inter-Governmental Philatelic Corporation as its stamp production agent.  As a result, many of its issues have little to no relevance with topics related to the island.

  1.   29 January 2020:  Wildlife of Madagascar
  2.   11 August 2020:  Raphael 500th Death Anniversary
  3.   14 August 2020:  Elvis Presley — Life In Stamps
  4.   14 August 2020:  COVID-19 — A Tribute To Those On The Front Line

Grenada (Grenadian Creole French: Gwenad) is a sovereign state in the West Indies in the Caribbean Sea at the southern end of the Grenadines island chain. Grenada consists of the island of Grenada itself, two smaller islands, Carriacou and Petite Martinique, and several small islands which lie to the north of the main island and are a part of the Grenadines. It is located northwest of Trinidad and Tobago, northeast of Venezuela and southwest of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Its size is 348.5 square kilometres (134.6 sq mi), and it had an estimated population of 112,523 in July 2020. Its capital is St. George’s. Grenada is also known as the “Island of Spice” due to its production of nutmeg and mace crops.

Before the arrival of Europeans in the Americas, Grenada was inhabited by the indigenous Arawaks and later by the Island Caribs. Christopher Columbus sighted Grenada in 1498 during his third voyage to the Americas. Although it was deemed the property of the King of Spain, there are no records to suggest the Spanish ever landed or settled on the island. Following several unsuccessful attempts by Europeans to colonize the island due to resistance from the Island Caribs, French settlement and colonization began in 1650 and continued for the next century. On 10 February 1763, Grenada was ceded to the British under the Treaty of Paris. British rule continued until 1974 (except for a period of French rule between 1779 and 1783). From 1958 to 1962 Grenada was part of the Federation of the West Indies, a short-lived federation of British West Indian colonies. On 3 March 1967, Grenada was granted full autonomy over its internal affairs as an associated state.

Independence as a sovereign state was granted on 7 February 1974, without breaking formal ties with the Commonwealth, under the leadership of Eric Gairy, who became the first Prime Minister of Grenada, with Queen Elizabeth as Head of State. In March 1979, the Marxist–Leninist New Jewel Movement overthrew Gairy’s government in a popular bloodless coup d’état and established the People’s Revolutionary Government (PRG), headed by Maurice Bishop as Prime Minister. Bishop was later executed by military hardliners, prompting a U.S.-led invasion in October 1983. Since then democratic governance has been restored the island has remained politically stable.

Beginning in 1858, the stamps of Great Britain were used in Grenada. Stamps posted in Grenada can be identified by the A15 oval postmark cancelled at St. George’s. The first stamps of Grenada depicting the portrait of Queen Victoria in the values of 1 penny (green) and 6 pence (rose) were issued on 3 June 1861.

The seal of the colony featuring La Concepción with the motto CLARIOR E TENEBRIS (Even clearer in the darkness) was depicted in the 1906 issue and later issues in 1934, 1938, 1951, and 1953.

Independence was granted on February 7, 1974, and observed with stamps overprinted “Independence. 7th Feb. 1974”.

Grenada ranks among countries that have issued the most stamps in the world.

Stamps inscribed “Grenada Grenadines” were issued from 1973 to 1999 for the islands of the Grenadines located to the north of Grenada. Since 1999, stamps for the Grenadines are marked “Grenada Carriacou & Petite Martinique”.