Post Aruba


2020 Stamp Programme

  1.   22 April 2020:  Earth Day 50th Anniversary
  2.   29 May 2020:  Butterflies
  3.   31 July 2020:  UPAEP — Architecture 2020
  4.   21 September 2020:  Health Awareness

Aruba is an island and a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands lying in the southern Caribbean Sea, located about 29 kilometres (18 mi) north of the Venezuelan peninsula of Paraguaná and 80 kilometres (50 mi) northwest of Curaçao. It measures 32 kilometres (20 mi) long from its northwestern to its southeastern end and 10 kilometres (6 mi) across at its widest point. Together with Bonaire and Curaçao, Aruba forms a group referred to as the ABC islands. Collectively, Aruba and the other Dutch islands in the Caribbean are often called the Dutch Caribbean.

Aruba is one of the four countries that form the Kingdom of the Netherlands, along with the Netherlands, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten; the citizens of these countries are all Dutch nationals. Aruba has no administrative subdivisions, but, for census purposes, is divided into eight regions. Its capital is Oranjestad.

Unlike much of the Caribbean region, Aruba has a dry climate and an arid or desert, cactus-strewn landscape. This climate has helped tourism as visitors to the island can reliably expect warm, sunny clear skies year-round. It has a land area of 179 km² (69.1 sq mi) and is densely populated, with a total of 101,484 inhabitants at the 2010 Census. Current estimates of the population place it at 116,600 (July 2018 est.). It lies outside Hurricane Alley.

The first mail delivered to Aruba came on boats originating from Venezuela or Curaçao. Mail arrived at the island’s main port in Oranjestad from where it was collected by the inhabitants. In 1892 the Governor of Aruba was given the title of Director of Post and tasked with the responsibility of delivering the mail. The first official post office was in Plaza Daniel Leo but moved to J.E. Irausquin plein # 9 in 1958.

Aruba has produced its own stamps since 1 January 1986, when it was granted internal autonomy within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. It had previously been part of the Netherlands Antilles. Post Aruba is responsible for the Aruba stamp issuing programme and was privatized on 1 September 2005, having previously been in public ownership. Commemorative and definitive stamps are issued as well as a range of revenue stamps for use on official documents. The stamp printing for Aruba is done primarily by Enschedé of the Netherlands.